Servant of the Most Compassionate

I don’t always remember my dreams, however, there is one  dream I will never forget.

I was in a house where people were gathered. I wasn’t sure if it was mine. Either way, there were people there. I don’t know who they were, but they had faces. That always freaks me out.

All of a sudden, there was a knock on the door. It was a screen door located on the side of the house. I heard the knock and began going towards it. I opened the door with my left hand as to let the gentleman in. He stood there, young-looking in age. I can remember his features. He had short hair and a long beard. His skin was neither light nor dark, but olive. He had very pleasant features. It wasn’t a scary looking dude basically. He was smiling.

He wouldn’t come in. I asked him as I stood there with my left hand on the screen door, “What’s your name?” He said, “Abdul-Rahman”, which means “Servant of the Most Compassionate”.

I tried to repeat his name and I couldn’t do it. I kept making mistakes. I knew what his name was and I knew how to say it, but simply couldn’t formulate the name when I tried to say it out loud.

I asked again, “What’s your name?” He again said, “Abdul-Rahman”. Again, I tried to repeat his name out loud and couldn’t do it. His smile seemed to have been frozen in time. Not once during our interaction did he let go of that smile. It was comforting.

I asked him, “Will you not come in?” He didn’t say anything. He simply stood there smiling and walked away.

Now, I was completely perplexed. Yes, I found out that even in my dreams I am capable of getting confused.

It was then that I woke up. I could do nothing but think about the dream I had, all day. I was in a depressing state spiritually speaking during this time. I was down on myself for giving into my weaknesses consistently and always thought of myself as not worthy of any true guidance. I couldn’t forgive myself, so why would God, right?

It wasn’t until later that night that it hit me. This was a good dream. What I took away from it all was this. Although we make mistakes, and consistently so, we have to remember that God is the Most Compassionate and the source of all Mercy. All we have to do is repent and trust in Him.

“Despair not of the Mercy of Allah, verily Allah forgives all sins. Truly, He is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful.” Holy Qur’an [Surah 39:Verse 53]

By: Nader

3 thoughts on “Servant of the Most Compassionate”

  1. Assalamu’alaykum brother.. I had a dream once around early 2011 and i will never forget it. i didn’t think about anything before i slept that night, in fact i was little bit scared of the tinkerbell n friends painting in my niece wall (i was over night at my brother home that day) so i turned my body n tried to sleep. And then its like i was inside arabian home on desert, i was feeling sad, then a man with beard, short hair, olive skin came along and up closer to me, and he was cried too. In that dream i recognized him as Abu Bakar radhiyallahu anhu. I don’t even know what he was looked like but i just called him Abu Bakar alaihi salam. then we both cried because we’re affraid Rasulullah Muhammad (peace be upon him) dissapointed with us (i don’t know what the caused). we just cried and cried and asking for mercy from Rasulullah for not dissapointed with us coz we’re scared of hellfire if our beloved peace be upon him not giving us his forgiveness. then i was wake up in sudden and my tears still flowed down to my cheeck. then i just fixated in my bed and asked for Allah and His apostle peace be upon him forgiveness..

    and in this feb 2011 i’m reading a book/novel about Muhammad Rasulullah peace be upon him, and there’s a chapter about after Rasulullah peace be upon him died, it’s a problem between Abu Bakar radhiyallahu anhu and Fathima radhiyallahu anha about the legacy of Rasulullah peace be upon him. perhaps you know what the legacy was. in the end, Fathima don’t wanna to talk to Abu Bakar again for the rest of her life, and it’s came true coz 2 days after that Fathima died to followed her beloved father. this made Abu Bakar radhiyallhu anhu very sad. and the memory of that dream coming back again and hit me. maybe thats why Abu Bakar cried in my dream.. 😦

    wallahu’alam bishawab..

    Like

  2. Assalamu Alaikum, I’m just now going through your blog. This post had me speechless, and chills went down my spine. How many times have I seen someone similar to this man in my dreams, we can never really remember the features, but we can remember that olive skin, that comforting smile, his overall beauty, and if you really focus you can see those twinkling eyes.. sometimes with beard, other times without. I love those dreams, I’ve come to the conclusion they do come during our weakest moments, and they are forms of guidance, a form of communication, that you are not alone – never were and never will be. Alhamdulillah.

    Like

Leave a Reply

