Question Your Intention

By: Nader

Imagine praying for 50 years, and none are accepted by Allah. Scary thought, I know. I don’t know about you, but sometimes prayer feels more like a chore due to the habitual nature of establishing it in our lives. The funny thing about intent is that we always have one.

If I’m hungry, I intend to eat. If I’m sleepy, I intend to sleep. If I’m bored, I intend to read my own blog posts and tweets because I’m hilarious. Just kidding, but seriously, my posts and tweets are amazing.

Anyways, my point is that we know what we want to do when we want to do it. We know when we go to sleep if we intend to wake up for Fajr. When we don’t intend to wake up, we simply don’t. You and I both know that all too well.

When it comes to matters of worship, we must question our intention. Do we want to lead the prayer because we seek leadership and status? Do we recite Qur’an because we want to be heard? Do we pray in front of others so that we can be seen? I bring this up because we’re all susceptible to becoming victims of our own egos. If we get the urge to do things for the wrong reasons, we can simply change our intention prior to performing the deed. Yes, it’s really that simple. A small example, if it happens to be Friday and you take a bath because you smell, fine, because you simply bathe every morning, simply change your intent to you’re taking a bath and will make Ghusl because it’s a Sunnah of the Prophet ﷺ. You just went from an ordinary deed to an extraordinary deed. You feel me? Fighting the Nafs is no joke. It’s a daily battle. Well, for me at least.

This is just a short reminder to myself (first and foremost) and to anyone reading this post, that life is short, and before we know it we’ll have to answer to Him. We can’t afford losing the blessings of deeds that we’re actually performing simply because we forget to question our intention.

Isn’t it time that the hearts of all who have attained to faith should feel humble at the remem­brance of God and of all the truth that has been bestowed [on them] from on high, lest they become like those who were granted revelation aforetime, and whose hearts have hardened with the passing of time so that many of them are [now] depraved? {Qur’an 57:16}

May Allah make us sincere when seeking sincerity.

Leave a Reply

