One of a Kind

Would you believe me if I told you that there’s a book out there where the author writes about himself, has conversations with himself, and even corrects and admonishes himself?

Moreover, what if I told you that the alleged ‘author‘ claimed that he never wrote the book in the first place? Does that make sense to you?

Well, it shouldn’t.

Why would anyone author a book and then refer to himself throughout in ways that aren’t always flattering, and to put it mildly, rather blunt.

Unless, of course, the person making the claim was being truthful about not authoring the book, that the words he uttered weren’t his, and that he was only instructed to convey a message given to him. That’s the only way any of this makes sense.

And who is more unjust than one who invents a lie about Allah or says, “It has been inspired to me,” while nothing has been inspired to him …” {Qur’ān 6:93}

You see, the Qur’ān isn’t a normal book. Yes, it’s beautiful when recited and definitely soothing to the soul, but there’s another dimension to it that people don’t really discuss. It’s constructed in a way that no other book on earth is constructed, which makes it absolutely unique; indeed one of a kind.

Let’s take a chapter that most Muslims have memorized, Surah (or chapter) 112 as a quick example of what I’m talking about. Pay close attention to how it begins. The very first word is ‘Qul‘, which means, ‘Say‘. Now, let’s look at the rest of the verse; “Say, He is Allah , [who is] One”

If someone asks you a question, but you don’t know the answer, and you ask me for the answer and I give it to you, you don’t go back to the questioner and begin with ‘Say: [insert answer here]’. It’s not a normal method of communication. You would simply go to the questioner and give the answer, leaving off ‘Say‘. Why? Because that’s what I told you to say. It’s common sense. If you went to the questioner and started with ‘Say‘, he or she will probably tilt their head to the side and think, “Why did he just start his answer with ‘Say‘?”

The Qur’ān is full of verses that begin with ‘Say‘. Think about it. Someone was telling the Prophet ﷺ what to say, and he didn’t even try to hide it. That screams authenticity to me. If I was a shady guy, and I wanted the world, and there was this one person giving me all the answers to all the questions people asked me, do you honestly think I’d include ‘Say‘ in any of my answers? No, I’d speak highly of myself, definitely never admonish myself, and pretend that all the answers came from my own noggin.

That being said, the Prophet ﷺ was telling the truth about his Prophethood. He told the people around him that he received revelation from God, right? Let’s say he didn’t know an answer to a question. He waits until God reveals an answer to him. When the answer is provided, the Prophet ﷺ dared not leave off even a letter (let alone a word) of what was revealed to him. He even included ‘Say‘ because that’s exactly what was revealed to him, even though it wasn’t normal. He trusted in God. Now, I don’t know about you, but I can’t even imagine ‘Qul‘ not being there in Surah Ikhlaas. They’re all intended to be a part of the miraculous nature of the Qur’ān and it’s mesmerizing recitation.

As televangelist Jimmy Swaggart once said in a debate with Ahmad Deedat regarding the Qur’ān, Literarily, there’s nothing like it.”

Over 1.8B people (and counting) on the planet agree.


By: Nader (MW Admin)


3 thoughts on “One of a Kind”

  1. The way you took a “classic” argument and explained it through a logical order made it even more compelling, the next time I’m having an argument about this, I’d certainly attach a link to this post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

