What a Night

I was in my Qur’an class Friday night when I received a phone call. “Nader! Yara is choking! I think she swallowed a coin.”

I never want to hear those words again.

There’s this really helpless feeling you get when your children are in distress and you’re not there to take action. My natural reaction, as I sped back home, was to call out to Allah. I remember making dua the entire drive home because instinctively, I knew, the situation was out of my control. That’s when the Athaan (call to prayer) rang out from my phone, “Allah is the Greatest”, “Allah is the Greatest”. Subhanallah!

Now, I have swallowed a coin before (I guess this runs in the family), but when I did it, I didn’t really choke, and it wasn’t lodged in my throat. I called 911 as soon as I arrived home. My daughter was breathing and conscious, so I had assumed she just experienced what I did years ago, and that it will naturally take care of itself, but there was this cough…

The EMT thought it was best to take her to the ER to get an x-ray because of the coughing. So, we did. The x-ray result showed a quarter stuck just above the clavicle (or collarbone). Now, this may not seem like a big deal to doctors, but I was horrified. I didn’t understand how she was breathing. Either way, she was (thank God). The ER team said they didn’t have a pediatric surgeon working that night, so they were going to transport her to another hospital. I was getting irritated at this point, but fine, we’ll do what we have to do. My wife was not comfortable with them anyway. She whispered to me, “I don’t trust them. I don’t feel comfortable here.”

Another ambulance ride, another ER.

Now, we’ve been seen by doctors. ER staff have taken all my insurance information. My daughter is resting comfortably and considered stable. They were planning to perform a surgical procedure to remove the quarter. We were happy to finally have a plan. Then, a doctor comes into the room and says, “I’m sorry, but we can’t perform the procedure here because we don’t accept your insurance. We’re transferring you to another ER.”

I was pretty upset at this point, but the doctor assured me that my daughter is not in any immediate danger.

Another ambulance ride, another ER.

We when arrived, they took my insurance information down again. I signed so many papers, you would have thought I was famous. Honestly, I didn’t read anything. I was exhausted. I just wanted that coin removed.

In every quiet moment waiting for someone to come into the room, I spoke to Him. I’m so attached to my little girl.

We ended up with a really nice Muslim surgeon who spoke Arabic. There was something comforting about that. Any surgeon who knew what he/she was doing would have been fine, but you know what I mean.

Now, the coin was eventually removed, but I felt helpless. Let me just tell you that the moment I knew things were out of my control, I asked Allah to protect my daughter, and to put comfort into our hearts, and to help us make the right decisions concerning her health.

It may have taken three ambulance rides and three different ERs, but Allah answered my supplications, and I’m forever thankful and grateful.

“Be sure we shall test you with something of fear and hunger, some loss in goods, lives and the fruits (of your toil) but give glad tidings to those who patiently persevere. Those who, when misfortune strikes them, say: ‘Indeed we belong to Allah and to Him is our return. Those are the ones upon whom are blessings and mercy from their Lord and it is those who are rightly guided.” {Sûrah al-Baqarah: 155} 


By: Nader (MW Admin)


5 thoughts on “What a Night”

  1. The worst experiences by far for any parents, I feel grateful both my kids have passed this stage albeit bringing different sort of tests
    .
    And definitely feel fortunate to be in the UK where you can go to any A&E (Accident and Emergency) and be seen pretty much straight away, no papers and no insurance just a hefty tax from your monthly salary which seems like a blessing coz in an emergency medical bills are the last thing on your mind, Alhamdulillah.

    Like

  2. Glad she’s fine and it was nothing fatal. Alhamdulillah. My little one “almost” swallowed a safety pin and I went frantic. Kids really have the ability to give us mini heart attacks every now and then. Let’s not talk about the times they kind of get lost for a few moments…….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tearing up as I’m reading. Nothing worse as a parent. I recently stood in horror while my two and a half year old daughter took a mistep and went head over heals down 13 stairs! I could do nothing but watch it happened so fast! My other daughter screaming at the bottom. In that split second a million things ran through my mind. …head trauma, internal bleeding, broken bones ect…I work in health care. Fortunately she popped right up and was fine. Visited a doctor to be sure. Sometimes being a parent is so helpless. I thank god for the protection of our innocent little babies. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

