4 Ways to Prepare for Ramadan

Ramadan is almost here.

Some people are great at doing Ramadan. I’m not one of them. I find it hard, every single year. Here are four things I know I can do to prepare for Ramadan. I’m writing them mainly for myself, but maybe others will find it useful.

1. Stop the morning coffee

I feel groggy until my first cup of bitter, milky coffee. It’s frothy embrace bringing me to consciousness. I need to get off my morning coffee cravings before Ramadan, or have it ripped from me brutally.

2. Start reading the Qur’an daily

If you already read it daily, pick up the pace I suppose. For me, it’s getting into the habit of doing every single day.

3. Plan your pre-Ramadan fasts

None of this InshaAllah business. I know with myself, if I don’t actually write down the days I intend to fast before Ramadan, they’ll pass by me without me even realising. Schedule them in. Make them happen.

4. Make dua for it every night

Ramadan is like a gift from God, there is no guarantee we will receive it this year.

So, we know the dua …

Allahumma barik lana fi Rajab wa Sha’ban wa ballighna Ramadan.
Oh Allah, bless us in Rajab and Sha’ban, and perfect and help us reach Ramadan.

I’m going to try to make it every night before bed, and actually spend a few moments thinking about Ramadan. I know for myself, thinking about it, even just a bit daily, will help me prepare. It will get me in the right zone, it will mean I hit the month running and full of zeal, rather than hit by unexpected wave that winds me.

Those are my four things. I know they’re probably not that impressive, but I know if I can do just these four things, I will be prepared to make the most of my coming Ramadan.

From past experience, I know my biggest mistake is getting motivated and trying to do too much in anticipation of Ramadan, which fizzles out well before the month reaches us. So, I’m opting to take the approach of small things, done often.

Maybe my four Ramadan tips will be useful for you. If not, make your own list and maybe share it with others on Twitter under #Ramadan2015 or in the comments section below.

I pray all our Ramadans are filled blessing, khair (goodness) and pleasure of God, and we live to reap the benefits of many, many Ramadans. Ameen!


By: @AbdulAzim (MW Contributor)


2 thoughts on “4 Ways to Prepare for Ramadan”

  1. Something I tried last year:

    Preparing a schedule – a prayer schedule.

    Factor in when you’re going to pray certain things, how much and for how long, but most importantly I felt, at what time, then make sure you keep at it for the full 30 days iA.

    – Important to start with small steps, e.g. one adhkaar a day, then gradually build up and pick up the pace.

    May Allah grant us all the taufeeq to strive, do better and be better امين

    Like

  2. I like the idea of scheduling the pre-Ramadan fasts. Fasting in Shaban really helps me get in the mood. I also get prepared by preparing my home like a guest is coming…I clean up, get new clothes, prepare food. That way I’m in a holiday spirit and I look forward to it even more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

