Mocking the Prophet Muhammad ﷺ: Why It Doesn’t Work

People mock other people. This is just an inevitable part of life. I’m pretty sure that even before language was a thing, cavemen ran around grunting at each other in derogatory ways.

People mocked in the past and people will continue to mock in the future. Now, I’m not saying it’s right or that I don’t get hurt when someone mocks me or someone that I love, I most certainly do, but it’s not going to go away.

Some people have decided to draw (their depiction of) the Prophet Muhammad  ﷺ (again). First of all, none of us know what he looked like. Sure, we have descriptions, but it’s not like we carry a photo of him around. I know, I know. It makes me mad, too. I get upset each time some cartoon figurehead in a turban is paraded around with a caption referring to my beloved Prophet ﷺ. It’s more of a nuisance. I know it’s not him, so why am I upset? These new-age bullies and haters are nothing more than children trapped in adult bodies. They tell Muslims to grow up, yet spend their time, money and energy drawing offensive cartoons LOL.

Listen, they’re trolls, and trolls feed on reaction. Don’t give it to them. A dog that barks at the moon all night does not diminish the beauty and purity of the moon one iota.

On numerous occasions, the mushriks called the Prophet ﷺ names. They used to call him “Muthammam”, meaning “the dispraised one” or “the one worthy of blame“. The reason this is an insult is because it means the exact opposite of the Prophet Muhammad’s ﷺ name – the praiseworthy one. All the companions of the Prophet ﷺ were deeply hurt by this, to which the Prophet ﷺ would laugh and say, “Why are you upset? They are insulting Muthammam and I am Muhammad!” It’s not like the Prophet ﷺ didn’t know they were mocking him. He knew, but he wouldn’t give the haters the pleasure of allowing their insults to bother him.

The Prophet ﷺ said: “Does not it astonish you how Allah protects me from the Quraysh’s insults and cursing? They insult Muthammam and curse Muthammam while I am Muhammad.”

[Al-Bukhaari]

I mean, WHAT A TEACHER we have in the Prophet ﷺ. Look at how beautifully he handled this insult. It was clever, witty, smart, and funny all wrapped into one awesome response.

Those who mock the Prophet ﷺ don’t realize that they’re only making a mockery of themselves, the same way the mushriks did in the past. They thought that what they were doing would tarnish the reputation of the Prophet ﷺ, but it only tarnished their own legacy. They had lost the respect they once thought would never flee.

Sure, the mocking won’t stop, but guess what, neither will the praise of my beloved Prophet ﷺ.

It’s quite natural that we become upset when we hear or see someone mocking the Prophet ﷺ, just like the companions did when he was mocked in front of them. That’s real love.

I don’t know who these haters are mocking in these cartoons, but what I do know is, it’s not my Prophet ﷺ. They must be referring to someone else 🙂


By: Nader (MW Admin)


11 thoughts on “Mocking the Prophet Muhammad ﷺ: Why It Doesn’t Work”

  1. The Prophet knew that there would be opposition to his message and did not care who mocked him. So we should not condemn or hate those who mock the Prophet but instead love them as brothers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

