Borrowed Goods

So the other day, I lent my Macbook Pro to a close friend due to my absolute trust in her as she needed it for some project work. However, I have to admit that upon handing it over, I did give her a few instructions on how to care for it as it was the only material thing I own that I really love; It is my baby, the most expensive thing I have ever bought, and for two years it has been in pristine condition.

So, a week came and went, and I wanted my Macbook Pro back as I too needed it for school. When I approached her, she gave me this sheepish look, and meekly handed over what used to be my baby …

I almost lost my cool when I saw the huge long scratch stretching from one end of the cover to another AND finally lost it when I saw the cracked screen when I turned it on. When I looked at her, face flushed with anger and expecting a good answer, all she could answer was, “I’m sorry, I was careless. I didn’t take care of it properly as I had forgotten that it does not belong to me.

Can you put yourself in my shoes and tell me how I was supposed to feel?! I had given her my most treasured item with 100% trust in her because I love her, AND I had given her explicit instructions on how to care for it so that it returns to me in the condition that I had given it to her; all these without even expecting any rewards or payments! But what did I get in return?!

Put yourself in my shoes, and then reflect on the following verses:

Indeed, your Lord is Allah , who created the heavens and earth in six days and then established Himself above the Throne… Unquestionably, His is the creation and the command; blessed is Allah , Lord of the worlds. [Qur’an 7:54]

Recite in the name of your Lord Who created – Created man from a clinging substance. [Qur’an 96:1-2]

So, if we get so angry when someone returns our items in a less than desired state …

How then do we answer to Allāh (ﷻ) when we return to Him our jasad (physical body) in a state that has been dirtied, that has been riddled with modifications that He has forbidden, that has been shown to the public when He has ordered us to keep it in private?

How then do we answer to Allāh (ﷻ) when we return Him this earth that He has created, in a state of chaos and disrepair, when He has given it to us in a perfect condition and gave us guidelines on how to run it?

How then do we answer to the All-Creator that we have totally destroyed His creations in the name of our narcissism and greed? That we forgot it is not ours in the very first place?

From Him we come and to Him we return. Let us all remember always that nothing of this dunya is ours; everything is a responsibility for us to justly carry out. May the things He has bestowed upon us speak for us instead or against us, inshāʾAllāh.


By: @IslamicThinking (MW Contributor)


3 thoughts on “Borrowed Goods”

  1. Awesome way of putting it. Another thing that crossed my mind when reading this was the fact that Allah grants us our kids as amaanat too… We will certainly be questioned for the way we treat them. Allah grant us understanding.

    Like

Leave a Reply

